Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dale_crosby8

How far back should I cut my Sir Thomas Lipton?

Dale Crosby
3 years ago

Hi

My Sir Thomas Lipton has grown like a tree. It has leaves and flowers on the top 1/4 and bare woody stem beneath.

Should I prune it to the ground and if so, when or should I just prune back the flowering portion, again, when?

Thank you!

Dale

Comments (12)

• joeywyomingzone4
    3 years ago

This is my first year with Sir Thomas, so no doubt someone else will have some better information for you, but when I pruned back my enormous Harison's Yellow I waited until end of flowering and then cut one side back hard, and left the other side for the next year. The next fall I repeated on the other side. That way I still had a good crop of blooms each spring.

Dale Crosby thanked joeywyomingzone4
  • seil zone 6b MI
    3 years ago

Where do you live? What zone? I usually recommend only hard pruning in the spring for most roses except once bloomers which should be hard pruned immediately after blooming. In the spring the rose is in high gear to grow so it seems to be the best time. In the fall, particularly in cold climates, the roses are slowing down in preparation for winter. I don't think that's a good time to crop them back. They need to store energy for the spring start up and they store that in the canes. If you cut them all off you cut off their early spring food source.

• joeywyomingzone4
    3 years ago

Excellent point, I forgot that Sir Thomas is a rebloomer. HY is a once bloomer, so I was told by the local plant center that it would only bloom on growth that it got going again after pruning and before winter.

Dale Crosby thanked joeywyomingzone4
  • Dale Crosby
    Original Author
    3 years ago

I'm on the Cape in Mass. Think he flowered once. Does that mean i should cut back now or in the spring (not sure what ya'all said). Still not sure how far to cut back. He's about 12 feet tall and flowers n the top 4 feet