Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
shah7963

Suggestions for a 26 degree slope!

Shah
3 years ago

Hi there,

I have a yard with a 26 degree slope. Is the slope too much for constructing anything on it? I live in los Angeles so the costs are probably pretty higher than a lot of places. What is a slope degree that would be like too much to think about building on it ? I know slopes add a lot of cost to the work but in general ,how much extra costs percentage wise? 10% or 50 or more haha

And for this empty 7000 sqf land, what do you recommend to be done to be cost effective? Given that a pool and a small patio is a must for the work and the rest can be landscaped.(Altho i have no ideas on how to landscape this sloped land at all)

Thanks

Comments (12)

• PRO
    Flo Mangan
    3 years ago

Terrace.

• PRO
    Flo Mangan
    3 years ago

Depends on budget and local restrictions.

• Snaggy
    3 years ago

I would Terrace it

• c9pilot
    3 years ago

Terrace and beam wall. Good candidate for an infinite edge, too, if you like those.

The beam wall will need to be engineered but its not difficult.

My slope wasn't as extreme, but you can see there is slope from the side yard, too, where we added stairs and an elevated garden bed. There are shorter run stairs behind the spa.

• Stevie Etheridge
    3 years ago

Would definitely suggest terracing the lot and installing retaining walls. You would be able to create relatively flat spots for installing a pool and creating some nice outdoor seating. You could attempt to incorporate the large existing tree but am sure it has an extensive root system. You should check with your zoning and building officials especially the arborist department before removing it if that is what you decided to do. If you are allowed to remove it you may have to pay recompense or replace the tree with newly planted ones. Good luck!

• Christopher CNC
    3 years ago