Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
eru_z7_southeast

I need help identifying this disease please.

Hi, I planted several hydrangeas in a part shade spot of my front garden this year, and my two macrophylla hydrangeas seem to have come down with some kind of disease or fungus I can't identify. It's my first year growing hydrangeas of my own, my mom had a bush briefly but it died due to neglect. Both hydrangeas are showing brown spots and curled/stunted leaves, and don't seem to have grown much. Does anyone have any idea what this is? I was hoping they might outgrow it but no luck. I have been spraying them with bio advance disease control every two weeks when I spray my roses,but it doesn't seem to have done much. Is this a treatable issue or "a pull them out and start over" issue? I'm having trouble adding photos here, so I'll add them in a comment below, sorry. Thanks for any help you give!

Comments (11)

• E C z7 southeast
    Original Author
    last year

• luis_pr
    last year
    last modified: last year

Can you get a soil pH kit from a plant nursery? Perhaps one with numeric readings as opposed to some cheap ones that give results by changing the color of a water based solution? Use it to check if your soil is either acidic (pH below 7.0), neutral (pH of 7.0) or alkaline (pH above 7.0). I suspect your soil is very alkaline, with reading much above 7.0. Hydrangeas have difficulty absorbing nutrients at those levels, which results in interveinal leaf yellowing. If not corrected, the leaves can brown out. This can also caused loss of vigor and stunted growth. Normally, you counteract the alkalinity by amending the soil with either garden sulfur, aluminum sulfate or iron-chelated liquid compounds from a plant nursery and apply the product per label directions. In the meantime, ensure that the plant still gets morning only sun and that the soil is always damp/moist during these hot summer months.

E C z7 southeast thanked luis_pr
  • gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)