Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
scott_jacoby89

Does a bedroom have to be accessible from a main living space?

Scott Jacoby
10 months ago

I have a master bedroom concept in a house I'm designing, but not sure if it break egress codes. Basically, I would have the bedroom door accessible through the office room. Basically the office door will open to the main hallway/living space and then within the office is the door to the master bedroom. The office would kind of act like a large vestibule to the master bedroom. I'm not sure if one of the egress pathways must be directly to a main living space/hallway or if rooms can go in between the main living space/hallway and the bedroom. Would this break egress codes?

Comments (24)

• PRO
    Strawberry Patch Designs
    10 months ago

You can not have a bedroom be accessible from another room. It must be accessible from common space, usually a hall. Because no one wants a bedroom directly off the great room. This is the simple type of code requirements that architects learn in first year classes. Are you working with a pro? Or are you in classes yourself?

Scott Jacoby thanked Strawberry Patch Designs
  • Scott Jacoby
    Original Author
    10 months ago
    last modified: 10 months ago

@Strawberry Patch Designs

Thanks!

I neglected to explain that I like to design houses for fun, but I try to make them realistic enough so that if I do decide to make one of my concepts a reality, that the professionals I hire don't have to change too many of my design choices. I'd rather nix my ideas now if they can't be done rather than when I have a design I fall in love with. I understand I'll come across a lot of those changes, regardless, but the more realistic I make my concepts now, the hopefully less changes will need to be made in the future.

• bpath
    10 months ago