Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jessica_tonjes

how does this crown look on cabinets?

Jessica Tonjes
last month
last modified: last month

This is my first time remodeling a kitchen. We are not currently living there until the renovation is done. And have run into a problem with our kitchen cabinets!
Our current kitchen design has 5-1/4” crown with 36” wall cabinets that go to the ceiling. We have 8ft ceilings.
The project manager was with me during kitchen rendering with the cabinet company. The installer signed off on the final rendering, so we went ahead and ordered the cabinets. Will attach photo of kitchen elevations.

Now after the fact, the installer is saying the 5 1/4 is WAY too large for the cabinet size and ceiling height. He said we will not be happy with the overall outcome. He suggests a smaller crown.
I am so frustrated because this is after the fact and cabinets were suppose to be installed this weekend. If we decide on a different crown (through the cabinet manufacturer), we will have to wait for him to come back.

He installed one cabinet for me to make a decision over night about what I want to do.

How do you think this looks? Thought and opinions suggestions appreciated!

editing this post;

THANK YOU ALL FOR THE SUGGESTIONS AND LAUGHS! the crown is too big!!! we will be using something else :) will update with photos once we decide.

Comments (27)

• vinmarks
    last month

It looks too large.

Jessica Tonjes thanked vinmarks
  • rebasheba
    last month

Sorry to say, he is right, it is disproportionate especially on that single cabinet! Maybe this will not bother you, only you know that, but you can probably see what he is saying.

I'm not sure what it means that the installer signed off on the design...not his responsibility to plan the kitchen, no? And there is no crown in the drawing at all.