Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lilacs_of_may

Surviving a hard freeze

lilacs_of_may
16 years ago

This weekend, we're not just going to have frost, the temperatures are supposed to fall below freezing for the first time this season.

What can survive it? What should I harvest before the freeze happens? It's pretty obvious that the melons, zucchinis, and tomatoes are goners. The potato plants are flopping over, and it's probably high time to harvest them anyway.

But I also have Brussels sprouts, broccoli, cauliflower, lettuce, spinach, and carrots. Should I harvest what I have Saturday before the freeze hits? From what I understand, the brassica can take freeze well and even grow sweeter for it. And I've heard of people even overwintering carrots, although I assume the freeze will kill the tops, and they won't grow anymore. What about the lettuce and spinach?

Yes, still a newbie. This is my first time planting a lot of these things.

And I have a lilac and tons of garlic still to plant. I'd planned to do that Saturday. But what happens to them if it then freezes Saturday night?

Lot of questions. Sorry. Am thankful for all help.

Comments (13)

• aka_peggy
    16 years ago

Brussels sprouts, broccoli, cauliflower, lettuce, spinach, and carrots should be fine.

As for the garlic, so long as the ground isn't frozen, you can plant it. You should still have plenty of time. I don't know about potatoes.

Good luck!

• oldroser
    16 years ago

If it's going to be a really tough freeze, you might want to mulch the carrots. Especially if the shoulders stick up above ground. The rest should be OK but don't be alarmed if they don't look great when the sun comes up.