Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nora_cy_lee

New to artificial light

nora_cy_lee
17 years ago

I am totally new to artificial light. Since sunlight is really short here during winter, I am thinking to set up artificial light for my orchids.

I am thinking to get a 4-level shelf storage unit of about 29" length x 11" width with and install a set of tubes in each level. My questions are:

1. Can I use regular fluorescent tubes that are available in Home Depot and Rona?

2. If I can use regular fluorescent tubes, what is the total watt that should be used on each level?

3. For regular fluorescent tubes, do I have to use a combination of warm and cool light?

4. In case I cannot use regular fluorescent tubes, what type of fluorescent tubes I should use?

Thanks.

Nora

Comments (12)

• terrestrial_man
    17 years ago

Nora,
    I think that you can use regular tubes for some kinds of plants. Probably most plants would survive under the regular commercial bulbs. What you would need to do is to compensate for those plants that require more light in order to set flower buds. One way is to extend the daylength the plants are exposed to. Instead of 8 hours run at 12-15 hours.
    Also how close the bulbs are to the plants will matter. Keep the regulars close to the plants within 2 inches using cool bulbs. If using warm bulbs you may want to add a small clip on fan.
    Below is a link to a site that offers a variety of light bulbs/tubes. It has interesting information on light and links to grow lights for plants on the left side. I find their prices somewhat steep but it is a good source of info and maybe you can locate gro bulbs in your area that will be as suitable.

Here is a link that might be useful: Vita Lite information

• cbarry
    17 years ago

Nora,

What kinds of orchids do you want to grow? This will really determine what kind of light you need.