Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hd28cat

Lawn fertilizer on my roses

hd28cat
15 years ago

Hi, my lawn care service came today and treated the lawn with a granular fertilizer. It looks like he got it all over my knock outs. Is this going to be a problem? If yes is there anything I can do to help?

Comments (19)

• hd28cat
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thanks Kate. It was not weed and feed, just a high nitrogen granular lawn fertilizer. I am pretty new to gardening but I thought I had read that high nitrogen would cause lots of green and no blooms

• littlesmokie
    15 years ago

Can you ask the company what the product was & its NPK? (Is it made of chemicals that could burn or slower release organics like cottonseed/feather meals, alfalfa etc.?)

Someone much more knowledgeable than I (michaelg, I believe) did a long series of posts on fertilizer here several years ago citing research that found that contrary to old school popular opinion, the best fertilizer ratio for roses is a higher nitrogen formula, something equivalent to a ratio of 3-1-2, or even 4-1-2. (For example, the pink label osmocote has this. It's a great time-release fertilizer that I use for my potted roses.)

I have used one of these granular organic "lawn" (higher nitrogen) fertilizer deliberately on my roses. But, if your company used a synthetic, "turbo" nitrogen kind of formula, then I would be afraid that it might burn your roses, in which case I suggest water, water, water.

Dawn

• wirosarian_z4b_WI
    15 years ago

As long as the lawn fertilizer does NOT have a weed killer in it you should be OK, just water them well like Dawn suggests. I use a high N (27-28%) lawn fertilizer for my 1st spring feeding on those roses that die back to the crown in my Z4 garden. Yes N promotes green growth but when all you have to start with is less tha 6" tall, you need to grow green growth before you can get any flowers. For my later season feedings, I switch back to something more balanced.