Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
redwolfdoc_z5

When to plant About Face in zone 5

redwolfdoc_z5
10 years ago

Hello!
I'm pretty new to rose gardening (but enthusiastic)! I ordered two bare root About Face roses this fall, which I expect to arrive sometime in the next two weeks (mid-November). Does anyone have advice about planting them? Should I put these roses into my beds as soon as they arrive or pot them and keep them in the (unheated) shed or otherwise store them until spring... I don't want to lose them before they begin! It's been a fairly mild and very wet season this year, with no frost as of yet and temperatures above freezing. The nights are going to get cold soon, however.

Just FYI, I currently have a Julia Child which is gorgeous and performs wonderfully, a Wild Blue Yonder which is great in the spring but is unremarkable after the first flush, and a Blue Angel climber that hasn't done much of anything in the three years I've had it. It's been in a somewhat shady spot behind the JC though. I moved it to full sun earlier this fall and am keeping my fingers crossed for next year.

Comments (11)

• redwolfdoc_z5
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Correction to my plant list - it's an Angel Face climber, floribunda. Not Blue Angel. Does it need winter protection in zone 5?

• dublinbay z6 (KS)
    10 years ago

You can check out such information about your roses at helpmefind.com -- wonderful resource.

My guess is that Angel Face cl. definitely would need winter protection in Zone 5. In fact, I think most hybrid teas and floribundas probably need winter protection in Zone 5.

Myself, I would NEVER plant a rose in the fall if I lived in Zone 5. Hopefully, some posters will come along and suggest what you can do to get a newly planted rose to survive a cold winter. I'm sure I don't know.

Good luck.

Kate

Here is a link that might be useful: helpmefind.com

• seil zone 6b MI
    10 years ago