Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
questioningserenity

New Gardener

Hello all!

I'm so glad to have found this forum! As in my subject, I'm new to Jacksonville, Florida and to gardening. I'm attempting a 'container garden' on my 3rd floor patio. So far I've succeeded in 'keeping alive'(can ya tell I'm unsure of my green thumb? haha!)a strawberry planter half filled, 3 rose bushes(Blue Girl hybrid, Maria Stern, and one labeled as N' Joy(but I can't find anything online about it)), 2 blueberry bushes(Rabbit Eye and Home Bell) as well as a peppermint and lemon balm pots and a Cherry Punch tomato plant. Hopefully I'll be taking advantage of my railing and planting a few baby seedlings I've managed to sprout.

It probably doesn't help I'm a cashier at Lowe's, further fueling my "Ohh pretty, I should try and grow that!" bouts.But no plants have been introduced to the inside of the house since one of my two feline's took to enjoying a 'natural litterbox' when I brought my Blue Girl in in fear of a too cold night.

Hopefully with all the wonderful people here, I can continue to learn how to keep my beautiful plants thriving and growing. Cause I think I've caught the gardening bug! :)

Comments (10)

• shear_stupidity
    11 years ago

Hello and welcome to Florida AND Gardenweb!

I think you're gonna need a bigger patio! LOL!

• ibarbidahl
    11 years ago

hehe- she's right. We only instigate around here. ;-)

Welcome!

• Tiffany, purpleinopp Z8b Opp, AL
    11 years ago

"It probably doesn't help I'm a cashier at L's". Oh my, I'd probably end up with a bill every week instead of a check! Welcome to Gardenweb!

• QuestioningSerenity
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Haha thank ya'll ^^.
    @shear_stupidity- yeah your probably right. I've been eyeing the rose bushes again....I THINK I can get away with putting one outside by the front door.....I've been eyeing the red ones/the multi-colored grafted ones haha!