Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
daisyhair

? Re: My New Mango Tree

daisyhair
14 years ago

Hi,

This is my first post in a long time.

I am brand new to growing fruit trees. I live So. Kissimmee/Davenport area in FL.

I have several questions re: my new Mango tree and hope to get some advise from some of you garden gurus!.

It is about 3Ft tall right now - it is a Haden.

{{gwi:97925}}

As you can see it is just one up straight shoot.

I wanted to know if I should clip the top off of it now to make it start to branch out (should I start to prune it now for a wide canopy and try to control it's height? although I do have room for it in my back yard.)

I am also thinking about growing it in it's pot for a while because I am concerned about freeze this winter (can just bring it inside for a year or two) and want to have a better established/larger plant when I put it in the ground. What do you think?

I wondered if so, should I should put it in a larger pot now?

Here is a pix of the top of the plant:

{{gwi:97928}}

I wondered, are the little nodules just more leaves?

Will this branch out on it's own soon if I don't prune it?

And lastly!

does anyone know of a good site with pix that guide you in pruning a mango the correct way to control how huge it gets?

Thank you so much!

I am excited. My very first tree.

Comments (8)

• leah29
    14 years ago