Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dottyinduncan

Why I love the PNW

dottyinduncan
14 years ago

What a November day! It's warmish, sunny and I just went to the veggie garden and ate some raspberries. Delish! Also, I dug a few potatoes, parsnips, beets and leeks for dinner. I just leave those root veggies in the "great outdoor refridgerator" until I need them. Then, I thought I should take a few pictures of tender flowers that are still blooming...days like this are going to make our wet, winter much shorter.

Here is a link that might be useful:

Comments (25)

• dawiff
    14 years ago

I enjoyed today too, and it looks like tomorrow is going to be similar. I'm a PNW newbie, can someone tell me if this weather is typical for early November? I keep expecting the rain/constant drizzle to begin. I haven't even had a frost here yet.

• PRO
    George Three LLC
    14 years ago

yeap, its a fairly typical november. talking portland here: i think 2006 had an october frost, but in the last few years first frost is in november.

people complain about the winter, but the grey doesn't really hit hard till mid november, then starts to clear sometime in feb. as long as you make a point to get outside in the daytime all winter long, its really a pretty mild winter experience.

• buyorsell888
    14 years ago

It was very windy in East Portland so no gardening for me even though it was sunny. It was a nasty cold wind. Warmer today but still windy. I live too close to the Gorge....

• Embothrium
    14 years ago

Other years frosts may come earlier. November is the stormiest month of the year here, raining on a parade that has been going on for months. But hybrid bush roses may still be in flower at Christmas in mild urban neighborhoods. By February spring will already be starting. The short season here may really be summer, with recurring showers often persisting into early July.

• hallerlake
    14 years ago