Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ecora99

budget $100,000 or less- even possible?

ecora99
14 years ago

I am desperate to move out of New Jersey and onto my wooded property in southwest Virginia. I would need to get water & electric to my property and with estimates that comes to about $20 K- I want to keep a reasonable loan payment amount over the next thirty yrs- roughly looking to borrow about 100,000- With $80,000 left, is this even possible to build something decent to live in, (other than a hunting shack) on wooded property?

Friends have suggested a yurt- don't know how secure that would be in the middle of the woods- plus have to factor in the fall & winter weather in southwest VA- mtn area and such. I don't know, they seem to be geared more for the warmer climates.

Just looking for ideas. I'm almost ready to live in a tent

Cheers

Comments (12)

• mikie3
    14 years ago

I am no expert, but I think it could be done. There are some very interesting plans for small houses now. If you didn't do a basement, kept it to under 1500 sq. ft. or so and used budget-friendly materials I think you might be able to do it. Talk to some builders in the area and see what they say.

My grandpa grew up in Southwest Va. (Grayson Co.) so I am familiar with the area and understand the appeal. Good Luck!

• vhehn
    14 years ago

only if you furnish labor

• reyesuela
    14 years ago

SW VA? Maybe. It's the cheapest part of VA...

• twize
    14 years ago