Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pking12747

Venting Bluestar witn 6 inch duct

15 years ago

I hate to post another hood question but can't find s post that deas with this. I am installing a 6 burner Bluestar rangetop. I have space for a 36" hood and will do 27" deep. I have a 25 foot duct run and it is already 6 inch. It would be a VERY big job to increase the duct size. Like everyone, for me quiet is very important.

I was thinking of a Thermador pro 36X27 with a 1000 cfm inline blower in the attic. This will net me 825 cfm and the way I cook, I think it is enough.

The MFGR recomends a 8-10 in duct. Will the 6" work? Any problems?

Comments (9)

• 15 years ago

There are 600 CFM vent hoods that are designed to work with a 6" duct. I'm not an expert but I believe it's a bad idea to use a smaller duct than the manufacturer recommeds - it will compromise the effectiveness of the hood and create more noise. I'm not sure that you can find a 27" deep hood that will work with a 6" duct, but that's a compromise that you may need to make if you can't increase your duct size.

• 15 years ago

BIG BIG problems. It won't work, or if you do manage to squeeze things in using that 6" duct, it'll sound like an airport runway with all of the planes taking off at once!

Firepower on your range and ventilation planning are hand in glove considerations. You don't purchase one without the other. Period. Either upgrade your ventilation ductwork and blowers to be suitable for the BTUs you want or downgrade the rangetop to be suitable for the ductwork you currently have.

• 15 years ago

And, rereading your post, you state "for the way you cook" implying that you don't do much high heat cooking. Well, then, it ought to be a fairly simple choice. Downgrade to a unit suitable to your ductwork!

• 15 years ago

25 feet is a considerable run even with 8 or 10 inch duct.

6 inch on top of that is way to restrictive.

• 15 years ago