Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mldao

Soapstone kitchen countertops or not? Pics of my kitchen now.

mldao
15 years ago

This forum has been so helpful with my previous powder room post I'd like your help with this project. I'm not sure if I should get soapstone kitchen counter tops with white subway tiles for back splash. I've been lusting for soapstone kitchen counters for 10 years. Now that I can finally have them I'm second guessing my choice. I have a very white kitchen which gets a ton of light. I have balloon type shades in a black/creamy plaid pattern which I absolutely love on both of my kitchen windows. I also have a granite black/cream kitchen table with black chairs. If I get soapstone will this be too much black? My kitchen is very light, airy and opens into my family room(I've included pictures of family room). If I use soapstone should I paint my kitchen and family room the same color? I really like soapstone and I'm drawn to it because its not shiny. Thanks for your help.

{{!gwi}}

Wrap around fireplace (travertine on fireplace)

{{!gwi}}

View of family room from kitchen island

{{!gwi}}

{{!gwi}}

Comments (22)

• mlraff53
    15 years ago

I LOVE YOUR HOUSE! I would absolutely get the soapstone/subways. No doubt. White marble would also look nice but I think it looks better with dark cabinets.

• msrose
    15 years ago

I think the soapstone would look great in there.

Laurie

• mrsmarv
    15 years ago

Absolutely! Don't second guess your first decision. It would fit in your lovely house perfectly.

• ttodd
    15 years ago

Fabulous place! I think that the soapstone would look wonderful! I wouldn't paint your rms. the same color. On my monitor though (& I'm sure that the color reads more yellow on mine) the kitchen wall color looks really yellow. Is it that way in real life?