Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lenian8000

HELP! my Echeveria secunda's bottom leaves are yellow and soft

HELP NEEDED:
Hi! Its my first time to grow succulents. I got new ones last wednesday and repotted them. I did not water them right away because I've read that newly repotted succs can get overwatered and they should adapt to the new pot first. I left them for 4 days, and when I came back tonight, my Echeveria Secunda's leaves were yellow and soft, while A LOT of my Sedum Rubrotinctum's leaves have fallen off.

Is this normal for newly repotted succulents? the other ones in my pot seem to be doing fine.

Please help! THANK YOU!
PHOTOS HERE:

before:

Comments (16)

• garrett222
    7 years ago

1. Get rid of ALL the moss, succulents hate that because it retains water and prevents ventilation.

2. Pull off all yellow leaves of the echeveria.

They look overwatered. I would recommend replanting them into a better soil, one with at least 50% perlite.

Also, that looks like a sedum pachyphyllum.

Lenian (Manila, Philippines) thanked garrett222
  • aaypua
    7 years ago
    last modified: 7 years ago

Is that moss on your pot? If so, you should remove it since it retains moisture. Also, what type of soil do you use? It should be a gritty well-draining mix. Mine are in 50/50 pumice and potting mix and they do just fine. Give it lots of sun too :)

• greenclaws UK, Zone 8a
    7 years ago

Hi...Don't know what the white stuff is but I would remove it along with the moss. May look nice, but won't do plants any good, if you want to top dress use small garages/grit. Has the container got at least one drainage hole?

Gill

• Celeste
    7 years ago

How are you watering the plants (are you misting, do you let water spray all over them, do you just get the soil damp)?

What kind of container are the plants in (plastic, clay, glazed ceramic)?

Is there a drainage hole at the bottom?

• Lenian (Manila, Philippines)
    Original Author
    7 years ago