Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hzdeleted_39244605

Pony wall removal in kitchen - NEED ADVICE

User
7 years ago

This is my first post, and first remodel. Our kitchen is small and cramped. We want to either remove or move out the pony wall that overlooks our family room to give us more width in the kitchen. The problem is that the wall has our kitchen sink plumbing in it. Can I remove the wall and somehow have just new cabinet backs facing the family room? How does the plumbing enter the new cabinets? Or do I need to build a new pony wall for the plumbing? The pony wall width is currently 6.75 inches and I have 10 inches of space before my sliding glass door. I've attached pictures. I wanted to try do RTA cabinets, but I just don't know what to do with this pony wall and plumbing situation.

Comments (11)

• pricklypearcactus
    7 years ago

Can you share a photo of the plumbing under the sink? I'm not a professional, but I do play one on the weekends (not really, but I have done quite a bit of DIY).

Why do you want to eliminate the pony wall? Is it an aesthetic reason? Or do you want to change the layout of the kitchen and the wall is in the way?

My assumption would be that your water and waste pipes run from the exterior wall into the pony wall, along the pony wall to your sink cabinet and then make a sharp 90 turn into your sink cabinet. Another possibility is that your plumbing runs under the floor to your sink and not through the pony wall (or under the floor and up the pony wall and then into your sink cabinet). Basically if the plumbing does run all the way through the wall, you'll have to re-route somehow. Either you have to route it under the floor or through all of the new cabinets instead of the pony wall if you eliminate it. The latter is obviously not desirable. You could also consider moving the sink in your layout if that means a better route for the plumbing.