Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vanessa_twist

Please help me ID this pretty little plant

Vanessa T
5 years ago
I'm a beginner houseplant enthusiast. I received a plant from a friend and neither of us know what it it. It came in an undrained pot and I soon noticed its roots were rotting, but that roots were sprouting on healthy stem. I cut the rotten roots off, got a drained pot and planted them not too deep. This seems to have worked.
At first I wasn't sure if this plant wanted to crawl or climb. Now that it seems happier and healthier, I think it really wants to climb.

Anyhow, the leaves are thick and waxy. Doesn't seem to want too much water as the soil is slow to dry. It gets a moderate amount of indirect sunlight at the moment.

I need help to identify this plant so I can take better care of it!

Comments (18)

• Karen S. (7b, NYC)
    5 years ago

Hard to say what it is, being so stretched out; normally the leaves should be closer together on their stems. I'd try to gradually give it more sun.

• dbarron
    5 years ago
    last modified: 5 years ago

Yes, without more sun, it's probably on it's way out...that's pretty bad.

Do it very gradually as suggested above, it's VERY susceptible to sunburn in it's very weak state.

Point of fact, I'd slowly get it growing more strongly in more like half to full sun, then take a cutting that looks normal (which this doesn't..this is like a stringy rope), and root the cutting. This plant will be too weak to bear flowering stems, they're too skinny and weak.

And put the cutting in a MUCH smaller pot...that pot is WAY overkill and probably stays far too moist for that size plant.

• Vanessa T
    Original Author
    5 years ago
    Thanks guys! It was in more shade before. The spot it's in now has a bit more sun and I'll move it gradually closer to the window.

It's définitely a darker green than a week ago, and perkier too.
  • Vanessa T
    Original Author
    5 years ago