Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jetsinla

Priming/Not Priming Painted Interior Doors

Joe
5 years ago

If I have a painted white interior door and I sand it thoroughly and plan to paint it white again, does it need to be primed after the sanding?

Comments (21)

• Sammie J
    5 years ago

It is hard to know if you will absolutely need to prime, but I definitely would do it. It will provide a much nicer finished product.

Joe thanked Sammie J
  • Joe
    Original Author
    5 years ago

Sammie, can you elaborate on why it will be a nicer finish? I guess, I don't really know what primer is because I always thought it was used when you wanted to cover a dark color with a lighter one or a surface that had never been painted. Thanks.

• Sammie J
    5 years ago

I'm no pro, but I've remodeled several homes and done tons of painting - and almost always prime first. I think of primer as a prep coat to ensure that there is a smooth surface for the paint, and that the paint adheres well. I can't be sure, but I feel that primer also improves the durability of the top coat.

Joe thanked Sammie J
  • PRO
    JAN MOYER
    5 years ago
    last modified: 5 years ago

I doubt it. Why are you sanding? You can simply use TWO coats of satin finish paint, sand with fine grit, use a tack cloth after first coat to remove all possible grit............and apply a second coat!

If the door is heavily coated in a bad paint job on old wood doors?? Nothing but strip, prime and sand will do it.

A primer is not a substitute for two coats of paint. Remember.......latex paint can go over oil base. Oil needs a primer.

Joe thanked JAN MOYER
  • Joe
    Original Author
    5 years ago