Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
daninthedirt

melons and fungicide

daninthedirt (USDA 9a, HZ9, CentTX, Sunset z30, Cfa)
3 years ago
last modified: 3 years ago

I've been growing melons successfully for several years. I get my first harvest in April, and it continues through August. But in July, the vines begin to decline, and by the end of August, they're dead. I had been thinking the fault was intense heat, since the bed is right next to a large swath of black asphalt. But I put up a fence this year that should have blocked some of the heat, and the decline was similar. In fact, now that it's cooled off, the decline continues apace. So I'm now pretty convinced that I'm really seeing fungal infection. Many of the leaves have developed holes. I've never applied fungicide to this bed. Curious that the infection waits until mid-summer to set in. Now, my season goes through November, so I'm getting shut down prematurely. Need to fix.

So what's the strategy for mitigating fungal infection in melons? Next year, I plan to do regular Daconil spraying and plant what are reputed to be resistant varieties. Rotation isn't an option. This is the only appropriate bed I have for melons. Should I alternate Daconil and copper?

Comments (21)

• wayne_5 zone 6a Central Indiana
    3 years ago

This question interests me. I have tended to have disease and wilt on melons and watermelons. This has relibably shown up the 3rd year if plantings are made three years in a row in the same area. I have thought that much was soil disease and still do, but perhaps a lot is leaf fungals. I wonder how Dan and others even get the main crop to get finished unless it it a new area to melons.