Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
webuser_172347229

Split one Power line into 2 outlets

Lana Shulman
2 years ago

I have one Power line on the bottom of the kitchen island which I would like to split into 2 separate outlets. One of the outlets needs to be inside the cabinet for drawers hardware to be plugged in with an adapter all the time, another one I need to be on the outside of the island cabinet ( for daily use of appliances, phone chargers etc). Please advise if this is possible or I need to have 2 separate lines to achieve the above.

Comments (16)

• greg_2015
    2 years ago

Yes, you can have both outlets on one circuit. Why would you think you couldn't?

• User
    2 years ago

The only issue is if operating all of that plus whatever else is in that circuit, will be too much for one of your GFCI protected kitchen small appliance circuits. What else does that circuit serve? ID the loads.

• Lana Shulman
    Original Author
    2 years ago

I am new to all this, plus I am a women who not supposed to know all the details:) that’s the answer to the question why I thought I couldn’t:) I am installing the Servo-Drive for my drawers in the island which need to be plugged in all the time. And in the outside I just want a regular outlet. Another question, I guess electrician who will do it for me will know. Does it have to be 2 separated electrical boxes or I can do a single outlet that can be plugged it from inside or outside? I haven’t seen outlet boxes like that but may be I don’t know. Thank you for your help, all.

• greg_2015
    2 years ago

Sorry if my question came across as me insinuating that it was a dumb question. I meant it more in the terms of "Did someone say you couldn't?" meaning that perhaps an electrician had told you something about this particular situation that could have changed my answer if I knew the details.

You'll need two boxes.

• wdccruise
    2 years ago
    last modified: 2 years ago