Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
beautifulhabitat

Flower bed novice needs advice: what can I plant together?

I'm an interiors Pro, but gardening novice. I'd like to plant flowers at my new house. Can I mix seasonal items in one bed? Specifically I'd like tulips for the spring and salvia and Black-eyed Susans for summer. Can these be planted on top of each other, or would I need to designated space for each one? Other tips or advice I should consider? Thank you!

Comments (5)

• catalyst95
    10 years ago
    Yes you can plant seasonals, or annuals, on top of a perennial like tulips. Don't cut the foliage off when the tulips are done blooming. Let it die back naturally. The growing salvia and black-eyed Susan's will cover it. Black-eyed Susan's will re-seed as will some salvia.
    Hope this helps!
    Beautiful Habitat: Design & Decoration thanked catalyst95
  • yvonnecmartin
    10 years ago
    Tulips don't reliably come back. They also should not be watered after they die back. On the other hand, daffodils do and often the clumps grow so large that you have to divide them. Consider getting some garden design books from the library to decide on your style. The most experienced, expert, gardeners plan for winter interest first, then add flowers. This means shrubs and perhaps a birdbath or other permanent piece.
    Beautiful Habitat: Design & Decoration thanked yvonnecmartin
  • User
    10 years ago
    last modified: 10 years ago