Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ant777

Sloped, overgrown backyard help!

ant777
17 years ago

Hello, I'm relatively new to gardening (ok, worse than a beginner) and the house we just bought has a large .6 acre backyard which is basically overgrown with brush and a tall weed like grass.

The slope runs upward from the house and is more steep closer to the house and then tapers off toward the end where there's a large limestone outcrop (a natural rock garden...filled with rattlesnakes, so I've been told). There's a thin layer of soil, and then you just hit hard limestone.

I have no idea where to start, I was thinking of hiring those guys who clean out brush and weeds, but then where do I go from there?

Here's the link to one picture of the yard. The yard ends where you can see a curve in the fence in the distance. The previous owner had put another wire fence, so that his pets don't run out into the bigger part where there might be danger of snakes biting them.

http://static.flickr.com/81/225076088_fa0636c5a6_o.jpg

Here are some other pictures of the yard.

Area behind the fence (toward the house)

http://static.flickr.com/62/174327172_b68927e1aa_o.jpg

http://static.flickr.com/72/174327173_f10eeabe2c_o.jpg

Any ideas on where, how to start? I live in Central Texas, in a rather dry area. How do I go about determine what kind of grass to plant, should I get rid of some of the cedar trees, I think there's some oak growing in that little grove of cedars.

Any advice will be appreciated.

Thanks

Comments (8)

• nandina
    17 years ago