Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
josieindc_gw

Please help w/ tree selection--does size really matter?!

josieindc
11 years ago

I've been working with a lanscaper on my backyard platings but we are kind of stuck on one place.the plantings will go on top of a retaining wall where they palnting area is realy only about 4 to 4 1/2 feet deep. We back into our neighbors fence. Her goal for the area is to block out the neighbor's house and to create dappled shade. Her initial recommendation was a Lacebark Elm, and now an okame cherry (or possibly another cherry). I am concerned with the size of treee at maturity, particularly with the the root crown (?). I do not want to cause future damage to the stone retaining wall or to the fence. The landscaper seems to think I am worrying needlessly. I am a novice....am I being overly concerned here. Any suggestions for another tree? Thanks!

Comments (10)

• wisconsitom
    11 years ago

Really just a matter of timeframe. In the short term, landscaper is right-there will be no issue. In the long term, yes, of course the roots will mess with the wall. If it's the next ten years you're concerned with, probably no big deal. Beyond that, some degree of conflict will most likely occur. Bear in mind, this is only the roughest of approximations I've offered.

How much additional height-beyond the top of that fence-do you need to screen that which you wish to screen? Or is the fence more or less see-through?

+oM

• eahamel
    11 years ago

How about something like large growing crepe myrtles, such as Natchez? They have good shape and will give some shade, and don't take up a lot of room for the roots, like some other trees will.

• josieindc
    Original Author
    11 years ago