Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
seik4123

General question about Clowesia Rebecca Northen

Sheila
5 years ago

Just received this plant, two bulbs. Old one terribly dried out. I know not to water until growth of roots. When Is blooming season for this plant? Will it bloom with just two bulbs?

I’m finding conflicting info on line.

Comments (11)

• Sheila
    Original Author
    5 years ago

Growing in the house, sunroom. Got light and I can rig up something to give it good humidity. Can I sphagnum and bag or do they need air movement?

• Sheila
    Original Author
    5 years ago

Here’s a photo. has this larger bulb bloomed?

• Sheila
    Original Author
    5 years ago

Can’t get it to upload my photo. I’ll try

later. Yippee, it finally worked!

sheila

• John B
    5 years ago

I’m not an expert, especially with unpotted bulbs. If they were mine, I’d find a pot that would stand the bulbs up – hopefully small enough that you can drop the whole shebang into a gallon-sized ziplock. I’d put sphagnum around the outside of the pot holding the bulbs (but not the inside) and keep it moist, not wet. Then you can slip a second zip-lock over the top to contain the atmosphere. Neither bag would have to be sealed. If you feel like it, and if nights are cool, you might take the top bag off to allow some fresh air in and replace it the next morning after re-moistening the sphag. Some folks might consider all this overkill, but an arrangement of this sort is working wonders with a mounted Phal parishii of mine with a minimum of fuss. Good luck. That second pseudobulb looks very good!

• Sheila
    Original Author
    5 years ago

Will that second bulb bloom again, or must it grow a new bulb and have it’s first bloom for me next year?

• John B
    5 years ago