Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kucharsk

Why do wall ovens take so long to preheat?

kucharsk
15 years ago

OK, I admit, I'm new to wall ovens and don't even own one yet but will be installing one as part of a remodel.

What frightens me is the preheat times people mention. 20 minutes for the Wolf L series? 18 minutes for the Miele?

My builder-grade GE electric range that came "free" with the house, which probably costs what optional roller racks do for the Wolf, goes from ambient to 350ºF in a measured six minutes.

So why can a $300 free-standing 30" range preheat in six minutes but a $4000 30" wall oven takes twenty minutes?

If this is standard timing, I'm afraid a wall oven may be off the list and we may have to get a new range, as if we want to make a "quick" frozen pizza 35 minutes is just way too long - you may as well call Domino's.

I saw a few posts that kind of skirted the issue, but none that really addressed it.

(A few people said to just throw the pizza in the cold oven, but I've found that leaves the crust a bit too soggy.)

Comments (12)

• User
    15 years ago

Why not just get a toaster oven ? If all you are concerned with is reheating frozen pre cooked food, that would be your best option. For great examples look on the Cooking Forum and search "canary bird". She makes the most exquisite meals in her toaster oven that you will ever see. She lives as you may guess in the Canary Islands and does not want the heat from a full oven.

I have the Miele 30" double wall ovens. They do not take 18 min, to preheat to 350. I use them almost daily to bake many different breads . I also utilize the rotisserie function and the roasting probe etc. I definitely get my money's worth from these ovens. You probably will not get that kind of use from any double ovens that you buy. But maybe you will increase the kind of cooking you do when you have the wonderful new kitchen you are planning , who knows. Only you do.