Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
swimkin

Interior Doors Question

Zoe52
16 years ago

I just got an email from a builder who is giving a cost estimate to us on our plan. He wants to know what kind of interior doors we want inside our home. I definitely do not want hollow doors, but have never heard of semi-solid doors.

I currently own solid wood doors in this home. I don't want to cut corners too much but if I have to, I would consider semi-solid doors assuming that the price for these doors are much lower than solid doors. If I want to later I could always upgrade to a solid door.

However, I have no experience with semi-solid doors at all. How solid are they actually? Are they something that you have or have considered and are they something that you regret using? Certainly don't want to hate them right away after using solid wood doors here.

Comments (10)

• janbanks
    16 years ago

Well, I can't really help that much b/c we used solid doors and it surprises me that everyone who goes through the house is very impressed with these doors. I never knew solid doors were so important. If the price is not that much different, I would go with the solid doors.
    JanB

• sue36
    16 years ago

We have solid MDF doors except on the closets, which are lighter. Not sure if they are hollow or semi.

• jaymielo
    16 years ago

So this might be a silly question, but are there two types of solid core doors, which are probably at different price points? Please excuse me if I phrase this wrong, but the first would be a solid "wood" door which are a solid species of wood through out and the second a solid MDF doors which have a wood veneer on the outside? If so, I'm assuming the solid "wood" doors are more expensive. What are the benefits over the other? That the veneer may chip or be marred? TIA. j.

• ponydoc
    16 years ago